“Duke” Ellington / Johnny Hodges / Harry James – I’m Beginning to See the Light

Bart Howard – Fly Me to the Moon       

Johnny Green – Out of Nowhere

Morgan Lewis – How High the Moon

Henry Mancini – Moon River

The second volume of arrangements for brass quintet features another five classic songs from the Great American Songbook. In penning these arrangements, I have tried to ensure that all five instruments have their ‘moments in the sun’: if not always in each song then certainly throughout the volume itself, which contains a variety of styles and tempi. Thus, medium swing numbers I’m Beginning to See the Light and How High the Moon stand alongside slow romantic waltzes by Henry Mancini and Bart Howard, which themselves partner Johnny Green’s 1931 classic quickstep, Out of Nowhere.   

The arrangements are very much designed for public performance: whether as amusing novelties/encores within a concert dominated by more serious music, or perhaps as background music for an event. I hope that brass players of all standards enjoy these arrangements, which demonstrate the sheer beauty of melodic and harmonic invention within the genre.

Felix Rigg

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.