The intention in writing Simultaneously Sovereign and Invaded was not only to expand the repertoire for the unusual combination of trumpet and string quartet, but also to look at the possibilities of the synthesis of the trumpet writing of late romanticism and the 21st century.  The music alternates between lyrical melodic writing and light dancing music, and in doing so explores an accessible language not very common in original contemporary brass writing.

Simultaneously Sovereign and Invaded was given its premiere by Simon Desbruslais and the Ligeti Quartet in Oxford in 2013.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet in B-flat
  • Violin I
  • Violin II
  • Viola
  • Violoncello