This piece was originally conceived for piano in 1866, in memory of Grieg’s friend and fellow composer Rikard Nordraak. Grieg later adapted it for brass choir and wind band, and part of its modern-day popularity is owed to the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble who recorded it in the 1970s, following the rediscovery of the brass choir manuscript by Geoffrey Emerson.

Grieg was immensely proud of the work and in one letter made it known that he wished for it to be performed at his own funeral “as best as possible.”

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3
  • Trombone 4
  • Trombone 5
  • Trombone 6
  • Bass Trombone 1
  • Bass Trombone 2

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.