Gruber was a church organist, and he composed his ubiquitous Stille Nacht in 1818, to a text by Joseph Mohr, the assistant pastor; it was first performed on Christmas Eve that year (apparently, and probably apocryphally, because the organ had broken down). This edition includes three verses, exploring different sonorities of the brass septet: the first features the trombones and tuba alone; the second features muted trumpets, and a single trombone; and in the final verse the full septet comes together, with the trombones playing the tune, and the trumpets floating on top with a delicate counter-melody.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet in E-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3 (Bass)
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.