The Spanish composer Manuel de Falla wrote his Cuatro Piezas Españolas in 1914, whilst working and studying in Paris. It was here that de Falla met his fellow countryman Isaac Albéniz, and the Cuatro Piezas Españolas are dedicated to him. Indeed, in its format, the suite is clearly an homage to Albéniz’s piano music; each of the four movements references folk music from a different region of Spain. De Falla’s style was, however, somewhat more developed than Albéniz’s, and he was influenced by several emerging early twentieth-century composers, most notably Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel. Accordingly, the Cuatro Piezas Españolas bear traces of the impressionist style cultivated in France during this period, which imbues the music with a uniquely international flavour.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in E-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 3 in B-flat (Doubling Piccolo in B-flat)
  • Trumpet 4 in B-flat (Doubling Flugelhorn in B-flat)
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3
  • Trombone 4 (Bass)
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.