Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina’s 1572 motet Canite tuba is in celebratory vein, and is an obvious choice for brass transcription (in this case for three trumpets and two trombones). “Sound the trumpet in Sion, for the day of the Lord is nigh” are the opening lines; no stranger to word-painting, Palestrina sets these with heraldic trumpets clearly in mind, and this declamatory style remains for almost the entire piece, giving way to flowing counterpoint for the plethora of final Alleluias.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet in E-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Alto Trombone
  • Tenor Trombone

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.