Mendelssohn was a highly religious man, and wrote his collection of Kirchenmusik (‘music for the church’) very early in his career. The Ave Maria is the second work in the collection, and was originally scored for an eight-part chorus with a pronounced role for a solo tenor. Two highly expressive lyrical episodes frame a central fugal passage, and the music demonstrates both Mendelssohn’s intuitive approach to melody, and his Bach-inspired passion for counterpoint.

Parts included:

  • Solo Trombone
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3 (Bass)
  • Tuba/Contrabass Trombone

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.