Dedicated to Gershwin’s friend and musical collaborator Bill Daly, the Three Preludes were premièred by the composer at New York’s Hotel Roosevelt in 1926. Originally intended to form part of a much larger set, only five preludes were ever performed, and just three included in publication.

For many commentators, these short pieces represent the apex of Gershwin’s ‘classical’ output, fusing a variety of forms in an inimitable yet quintessentially ‘American’ style. The two Latin-inspired outer movements are barely a minute long, while the middle Prelude – described by Gershwin as ‘a sort of blues lullaby’ – provides a moment of melancholic repose.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet in E-flat / Piccolo Trumpet in B-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3 (Bass)
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.