Finzi wrote his Romance in E flat major in the fertile period after he had moved to London in 1925, surrounded by other young English composers such as Holst and Vaughan Williams. He revised it much later in his career, and it only received its first performance in 1951, long after he had moved from London to Wiltshire to devote himself to his twin passions: composing, and the preservation of rare varieties of English apple. Fittingly the Romance has an air of elegiac nostalgia, warm and optimistic, growing from a pensive introduction into a lilting and unwaveringly lyrical movement.

Matthew Knight

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet in E-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3 (Bass)
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.