Finzi wrote a number of sacred choral works, despite being an agnostic of Jewish descent, and one of his most popular is the rousing anthem, God is gone up with a triumphant shout. This elated celebration of the Ascension is ripe for brass transcription: Finzi’s fanfare-like organ opening clearly reflects the ‘sounding trumpet melodies’ of Edward Taylor’s text. The septet plays both organ and choir roles—in the gentler and more transparent middle section (‘Methinks I see Heaven’s sparkling courtiers fly’) this distinction is made clear, with the melodic voices of the choir accompanied by trickling cup-muted organ lines. The full might of the brass septet then returns for the emphatic reprise of the opening material.

Matthew Knight

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet in E-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3 (Bass)
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.