The music of Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas is regrettably underperformed outside of the Americas, but his work has a truly unique character. Although he only lived to the age of 40, Revueltas wrote prolifically, and the three-movement suite Alcancías is one of nearly twenty completed works for orchestra. Like all of his music, Alcancías is irreverent and sarcastic, and draws together an eclectic range of styles. Mariachi-inspired melodies collide with Stravinsky-esque figuration, and there are even unexpected splashes of serialism that seem totally at odds with the music’s more ‘folky’ elements. The three movements of this particular suite are (very) loosely based on traditional Mexican folk dances: the first takes the form of a highly-stylised corrido, a march-like dance with a pronounced rhythmic impetus in 2/4. The second is an expressive song-like cancíon, with moments of outlandishly intrusive dissonance, and the dramatic finale is based on the fast-paced huapango, a dance which is typified by an alternation between duple and triple meter.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Piccolo Trumpet in B-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 3 in B-flat
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3
  • Trombone 4 (Bass)
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.