Maurice Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin, written between 1914 and 1917, is one of the French composer’s most iconic works. Originally a six-movement work for piano, Le Tombeau is loosely based on the dance suites by the piece’s namesake, the French baroque composer François Couperin (1668 – 1733). Stylistically, the suite is a far cry from the music of Couperin himself, however: elaborate, almost jazz-infused harmonies underpin the expressive and delicate melodies that are so typical of Ravel’s music from this period. Traditionally, a tombeau is a suite dedicated to the memory of one or more deceased individuals, and Ravel wrote the movements of this suite as a remembrance to fallen friends and acquaintances in the First World War. The gentle, often poignant music beautifully captures this sense of homage.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 3 in B-flat (Doubling Piccolo in B-flat)
  • Trumpet 4 in B-flat (Doubling Flugelhorn in B-flat)
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone 1 (Doubling Alto Trombone)
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3
  • Trombone 4 (Bass)
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.