Luca Marenzio was one of the foremost madrigal composers of the Late Renaissance, and is renowned for paving the way towards Monteverdian opera with his unique and often experimental approach to word setting. Solo e Pensoso, taken from Marenzio’s ninth book of madrigals, is especially notable in this regard: the long, drawn-out chromatic scale that begins the work, and the stylistically unusual sequences of descending thirds, both serve to capture the sense of solitude and despair of Francesco Petrarca’s original text.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Piccolo Trumpet in B-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 3 in B-flat
  • Bass Trumpet in C / Alternative part in B-flat