‘Circus Games’ was written for Matthew Gee to play in his graduate recital at the Hochschule der Kunst in Bern, Switzerland, on May 27th 2014. There are are not many trombone concertos, certainly not for a small ensemble, and yet the trombone’s capacity for delicacy, as well as power and virtuosity seem to cry out for such pieces.

This then is intended as a ‘fun’ piece, with the soloist in the role of an imaginary ‘animal tamer’.  And the sharp-eared listener will I hope, appreciate its reference to the opening motif of a well-known 20th century classic. It lasts around 10 minutes.

Rob Keeley

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trombone
  • Flute
  • Clarinet 1 in B-flat
  • Clarinet 2 in B-flat
  • Horn in F
  • Vibraphone
  • Piano
  • Piano reduction

A piano reduction of this work is also available.

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.