Maurice Ravel’s Sonatine for piano, completed between 1903 and 1905, occupies a curious place in the composer’s oeuvre. In its form, the work is uncharacteristically conservative, almost anachronistically so: it is simply a ‘fast-slow-fast’ sonatina, similar in form to the sonatas of Beethoven, Haydn, or even Mozart. Crucially however, Ravel fills this very traditional structure with his own unique melodic and harmonic language. Rich, extended harmonies abound, and though the movements are indeed structurally conservative, the music has an almost rhapsodic character in the way the melodies and themes unfold.

Parts included:

  • Piccolo Trumpet in B-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 3 in B-flat
  • Bass Trumpet in B-flat (Alternative Part in C)