Mendelssohn made several visits to Britain during his career (inspiring such works as The Hebrides overture) and it was an English publisher that commissioned a set of organ voluntaries from the composer in 1844. The resulting six organ sonatas were published a year later, and have come to be regarded as amongst the most important works of the organ repertoire.

The second sonata (in C minor) perhaps works most successfully for brass: the six-part homophonic writing of the opening Grave, the interweaving contrapuntal lines of the following Adagio, and the dramatic ending of the fugal finale are a perfect fit, musically and technically, for the natural compass of the septet.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet in E-flat
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3 (Bass)
  • Tuba