Acclaimed as one of the foremost organists of the nineteenth century, César Franck’s set of Six pièces pour grand orgue, written between 1859 and 1862, derived from his post-service improvisations at the basilica of St. Clotilde in Paris, where he inaugurated one of the finest instruments from the famed French organ builder, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll.

The fifth movement of this collection, Priére, is perhaps the most explicitly evocative: it opens with a sustained five-part chorale in C sharp minor, and following a section of motivic development, the theme returns as a declamatory recitative. The climax in the major mode, however, serves only as a temporal exclamation, as the prayer ends in contrite submission.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in C
  • Trumpet 2 in C
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba

Purchasing this product entitles you to download it three times. You will receive an email with a link to download your files upon completing payment.