Acclaimed as one of the foremost organists of the nineteenth century, César Franck’s set of Six pièces pour grand orgue, written between 1859 and 1862, derived from his post-service improvisations at the basilica of St. Clotilde in Paris, where he inaugurated one of the finest instruments from the famed French organ builder, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll.

The third movement of this collection, Prélude, Fugue et Variation, is dedicated to Franck’s fellow francophone composer, Camille Saint-Saëns. A tender, almost Bach-like Prélude precedes the explicit polyphony of the Fugue, before the work ends with an industrious reworking of the first movement in variation form, fading gently into the luminous key of B major.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in C
  • Trumpet 2 in C
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba