The music of Anton Bruckner is familiar to brass players through his orchestral writing, and the mature style of his symphonies is evident in this motet, through the harmonic language, a full textural range, and the use of sudden dramatic silences. The scope of the piece requires a multitude of colours from the 2 trumpets and 3 trombones, from the mournful darkness of the opening (Christ’s death on the cross), to the exultant brightness of the central section (“Therefore God exalted him”), and the gnomic quality needed for the strangely subdued final phrases (“[his name] is above all names”).

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in B-flat
  • Trumpet 2 in B-flat
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Trombone 3 (Bass)