Arranged by Herbert Fryer (1877-1957), the Sarabande from Cello Suite no. 6, BWV 1012 forms part of the anthology ‘A Bach Book for Harriet Cohen’ – another ‘notebook’ in effect – commissioned between the two World Wars by this ubiquitous English pianist. Taking Bach’s multi-stopping techniques as the basis for his two-hand harmonisation, Fryer presents the fourth of his Op. 22 cello transcriptions in an evocative, momentarily astringent but essentially sepia-like English landscape. This is classic ‘encore’ material. It should be relaxed in tone and yet keep moving forward so that Bach’s noble structure and Fryer’s poignant harmonies coalesce happily.

Jonathan Freeman-Attwood

Parts included:

  • Piano
  • Trumpet in C

Also available as part of A Bach Notebook for Trumpet.