Product Description

Acclaimed as one of the foremost organists of the nineteenth century, César Franck’s set of Six pièces pour grand orgue, written between 1859 and 1862, derived from his post-service improvisations at the basilica of St. Clotilde in Paris, where he inaugurated one of the finest instruments from the famed French organ builder, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll.

The fifth movement of this collection, Priére, is perhaps the most explicitly evocative: it opens with a sustained five-part chorale in C sharp minor, and following a section of motivic development, the theme returns as a declamatory recitative. The climax in the major mode, however, serves only as a temporal exclamation, as the prayer ends in contrite submission.

Parts included:

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in C
  • Trumpet 2 in C
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba